That day 

I wanted to be perfect. I wanted to be the best

Had desires which were materialistic 

For that I used to crib when I didn’t have something my friends had

Cried when I was restricted for certain things

Blamed others for my careless mistakes

Jealousy, enmity was all I was filled with

Neither I valued what I had nor understood its significance in my life


Until 

One day 


I met a girl with large eyes and dull cheeks

A girl full of innocence but struck with unfortunate series of events

A girl who had desires 

Desire of not having a big villa or a grand party

A desire to experience mother’s love 

A desire to study and not work

A desire to have proper meals and good sound sleep  

A desire to be with people who valued her and not with one who tortured her


That was the day I realized

Being best is not keeping up with these hot trends 

Being best is valuing what you have 

It is to cherish each and every moment you have 

It means to realize one’s mistake  

And the most important 

It means to work hard to achieve your dreams 

That day was seriously the best day 


10 Comments Add yours

  1. theeayieko says:

    Worthy content too

  2. salwaadlyy says:

    A beautiful story told through a beautiful poem and not just that it also was inspiring. I love it 🙂 🙂

    1. Saloni says:

      Thank you so much
      I am glad you loved it

  3. Beautiful story…i like it 🙂

  4. aayushman says:

    nice one saloni

    1. Saloni says:

      Thanks

Leave a Reply

