The Arrival

Looking in mirror at my reflection,
I observe the baby bump,
How it carries you, my baby
Nurturing you with my blood
And loving you with all my heart.

Baby, I don’t know if you are a boy or girl
Neither I have any choice nor I care.

But baby, if you are a girl
I will let you live free,
Removing all barriers of restrictions.
Making you independent,
To follow your own heart and voice.
Protecting you from all torture,
Girls in our country face.
And making you strong enough,
To fight all your battles yourself.

But baby if you are a boy,
I will let you live free,
But also make you realise the value of freedom.
Teach you to respect women,
And value their abilities.
Inculcate the value of equality,
Among all genders.
Make him express his emotions freely,
With no fear of hurting the male ego.
Make him stand with girls,
And not against them.

I don’t know baby whom you will resemble,
Me or your dad
But I will make sure that
We will be your best friends,
Understanding the real you,
Giving importance to your opinion
And never judging you.
We will tell you the difference between right and wrong,
And not spoil you.
Giving a you need but also
Teaching you to value all what you have.

I don’t know baby what would you want to do in future.
But I can assure you my child,
That there will be no pressure to join the rat race.
Do what you love and not what we want you to do .
Because participating in the race you love is important ,
rather than winning the race you don’t even know about.

Oh my dear child,
I feel you move inside me,
Filling me with nervousness and excitement,
As your dad and me wait for your arrival…

image

10 Comments Add yours

  1. colinandray says:

    A wonderful expression of hope for the future. πŸ™‚

    1. Saloni says:

      Thanks πŸ™‚

  2. Filled me with all emotions, at the moment when I am not at the stage to experience it any sooner, amazing!!!
    No words.. Outstanding..

    1. Saloni says:

      Thanks πŸ™‚ thanks a lot..

  3. Admirable!!! This is revolutionary writing piece of blog !!

    1. Saloni says:

      OMG.. Thanks again. πŸ™‚

  4. adhi2001 says:

    A wonderful poem, Saloni.

  5. Beautiful. Only if all parents let their children grow up in freedom, and teach them to respect freedom and respect others…

    1. Saloni says:

      Thanks.

Leave a Reply

